The Incurable Wound

I read Jeremiah 30 this morning and was struck by verses 12-13, 15 & 17: “This is what the Lord says: ‘Your wound is incurable, your injury is beyond healing.  There is no one to plead your cause, no remedy for your sore, no healing for you. 15 Why do you cry out over your wound, your pain that has no cure?  Because of your great guilt and many sins I have done these things to you.  17 But I will restore you to health and heal your wounds’ declares the Lord ‘because you are called an outcast, Zion for whom no one cares.'”

Wait!  What?  My wound is incurable?  My injury is beyond healing?  No remedy for my sore?  No healing for me?

What happened to “I am the Lord who heals you”?

I started to get upset.

So I read a little further.

My Bible suggested replacing the word “incurable” with “terminal”.

WOW.

Just that 1 word changed those verses to me and I suddenly knew the “wound” talked about here is not a wound that has been inflicted upon us, but rather wounds we inflict upon ourselves.

Sin.

AHHHH!  Did you see that light bulb flash?

We sin.

Then we cry about the pain of that sin.

Why?

We did it to ourselves.  What did we expect?

But the great thing is, God “will restore you to health and heal your wounds.”

When I read God “will restore you to health” I actually thought of mental and emotional health, because I think mental/emotional health suffers greatly during times of sin.  Our minds become a confused mess.  We snap at people.  We become cold and distant.

And even though we have to suffer the natural consequences of our sins, God will restore us and heal us…if we allow Him.

As a betrayed spouse this touched me.

I’ve known all along that God can heal this marriage and my husband can be a man after God’s own heart like David.  But, to read these verses and hold them close & personalize them for my husband, just made it all so real and tender to me.

I thank God He will restore Hub to health and heal his wounds.

Oh…and just so you know, Exodus 15:26 holds even more true based on the above verses: “He said, ‘If you listen carefully to the LORD your God and do what is right in his eyes, if you pay attention to his commands and keep all his decrees, I will not bring on you any of the diseases I brought on the Egyptians, for I am the LORD, who heals you.‘” (emphasis mine)

~RH

One thought on “The Incurable Wound

  1. Yeah, but in the original Hebrew, God tells the sinners they can just suck it because what did they expect? They brought it on themselves.

    Just kidding, obviously. The thing I love about the Old Testament is you see New Testament theology lived out in the lives of individuals and in the nation of Israel. How many times did Israel fall into slavery or come to the brink of extinction because of their sins and yet God always was there for them when they repented. He always healed them when they repented. How many of the Psalms were written by David after his affair in which he praises God’s mercy and forgiveness? Good stuff

    Like

Leave a Reply

