Unexpected Hope

One of the biggest battles I’ve had over these last 10 months is keeping hope alive.

Especially the last month.

I have run across so many triggers in this past month. I knew that would happen.  But I didn’t expect new triggers to emerge during this time.

But then again…what part of any of this have I expected?

A couple of weeks ago a friend and I were Christmas shopping.  As my friend was at the counter paying she noticed a container of rings.  She started digging through and looking at them.  She held one up, looked at me, and said “this is you.  You need this ring”.

The ring simply said “hope”.

I tried it on.

It fit.

So, I bought it.

I wear it on my left hand.

And I’ve been shocked at how that $15 ring pulls me out of the “trigger fog”.

A trigger will hit.  And almost instantly the word “hope” will catch my eye.  And it’s hard to let that trigger pull me down when I’m focusing on hope.

It’s not a good luck charm.

It’s a reminder.

A reminder to have hope.

Hope for my marriage? Sure!

But more than that….it’s a reminder to have hope in God’s plan for my life.  And hope for my healing.

I never would have expected that little ring to help me refocus.

But then again…what part of any of this have I expected?

Leave a Reply

