To What Do I Owe Thee?

Back a couple of months ago I mentioned a guy who at one point, years ago, had confessed to having a “thing” for me.

He texted me on my birthday this year & said “Happy Birthday”.  I texted him back and told him “thank you”.

Last week he texted me & told me he had a Christmas card & gift for me and wanted to know how he could get it to me.

I texted him back and said, “no, thank you.  I’m not trying to be mean, but I need to put up a barrier now.”

I haven’t heard from him since.

Yesterday I started to send a message to him explaining why I said no and telling him I hope I didn’t make him mad.

But before I could even get one word out I thought “why am I so concerned about what he thinks?  I don’t owe him an explanation!  And if he’s offended by my refusal, then so be it.”

To what do I owe thee?

Nothing.

 

One thought on “To What Do I Owe Thee?

Leave a Reply

